Special dietary solutions

Use our ingredients that are lactose-free or without added dairy to give an alternative for intolerances or allergies. Everybody, also people with a vegan or gluten-free diet, should be able to enjoy great tasting chocolate.

Globally, governments, media and social networks are driving people to more health awareness and encourage the use of healthier solutions. This has led to consumers showing a strong preference for foods that are healthy and nourishing.

We’ve created without added dairy, without added lactose and gluten-free products to meet the needs of a growing number of consumers with food intolerances and allergies. However, these special dietary solutions also appeal to those without particular health issues but paying extra attention to the claims and ingredient lists. Millennials, for example, show a rising interest because they believe ‘free-from’ products are healthier for them.

Special dietary solutions tablet

Discover Barry Callebaut’s product offerings that comply with these restrictions and allergies:

1. Without added Lactose

Lactose is a sugar that is mainly found in milk and dairy products. To make sure people who are allergic can also enjoy great tasting chocolate products, we replaced the milk with skimmed milk powder with a low-lactose content.

2. Without added dairy

Consumers are following a dairy-free diet for different reasons. Dairy refers to milk from a cow or other domestic animals. We offer chocolates that have no milk and no part of milk. The milk is replaced by vegetable based solutions.

 

 

3. Gluten-free

A gluten-free diet is a diet that strictly excludes gluten. Gluten is a mixture of proteins found in wheat and related grains. At Barry Callebaut, all our production sites are gluten free and most of our products are too.


4. Vegetarian/Vegan/flexitarians

Consumers following these diets find great importance in claims and labels. They want products that are good for them, the environment and the animal. Vegetarians avoid all foods or ingredients that contain meat, poultry or seafood ingredients. Vegans go one step further.

Special dietary solutions vegan

On top of the vegetarian diet, vegans also avoid all foods and ingredients that originate from animals, so milk chocolate as such is not an option for them. Flexitarians, a relatively new notion, refer to those who are flexible in their diet and can switch from vegan to vegetarian to gluten-free and back.

Get in Touch

Your Nearest Sales Representatives

Victoria Pitters
  • Food & Beverage manufacturers
1-312-496-7444

Your Nearest Office

Barry Callebaut USA LLC
903 Industrial Highway
Eddystone, 19022
United States

+1 610 872 4528