Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is ultimately responsible for the policies and management of the Company.

The Board of Directors establishes the strategic, accounting, organiza­tio­nal and financing policies to be followed, and appoints the Executive Committee, to which the Board of Directors has delegated the operational management of the Company. Besides its non-transferable and inalienable duties pursuant to Swiss corporate law, the Board of Directors has retained certain competencies as set forth in the Company’s Internal Regulations and in a detailed tabular Annex thereto, both of which are publicly accessible on the website of Barry Callebaut. As set forth in the company’s Articles of Incorporation, no Member of the Board of Directors may hold more than 15 additional mandates, of which no more than five may be in stock-exchange-listed companies.

As of December 13, 2017, the Board of Directors consisted of eight non-executive members. Each Director is elected by the Shareholders of Barry Callebaut AG at the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders for a term of office of one year and may be re-elected for successive terms.

The composition of the Board of Directors of Barry Callebaut AG as of December 13, 2017, is as follows:


Name Nationality Function Member since
Patrick De Maeseneire Belgian Chairman 2015
Jakob Baer Swiss Vice Chairman 2010
Fernando Aguirre Mexican/American Director 2013
James L. Donald American Director 2008
Nicolas Jacobs Swiss Director 2012
Timothy E. Minges American Director 2013
Juergen B. Steinemann German Director 2014

Elio Leoni Sceti

Italian Director 2017
Patrick De Maeseneire

Patrick De Maeseneire

Patrick De Maeseneire (1957) was appointed Chairman of the Board of Barry Callebaut AG in December 2016. He had served as Vice President of the Board since 2015.

Read more