Free From solutions

Use our ingredients that are dairy-free or vegan to give an alternative for intolerances, allergies or lifestyle choices. Consumers that prefer or require a gluten-free or nut-free diet should be able to enjoy great tasting chocolate combined with health benefits and Barry Callebaut offers those solutions.

Globally, governments, media and social networks are driving people to more health awareness and encourage the use of healthier solutions. This has led to consumers showing a strong preference for foods that are healthier and nourishing.

We’ve created dairy-free and gluten-free products to meet the needs of a growing number of consumers with food intolerances and allergies. However, more importantly, these solution types are very appealing to those that are paying more attention to claims and ingredient lists and choosing a lifestyle free of these products. Millennials, for example, show a rising interest because they believe ‘free-from’ products are healthier for them.
 

Special dietary solutions tablet

Discover Barry Callebaut’s product offerings that comply with these restrictions and allergies:

1. Dairy-free 

Consumers are following a dairy-free diet for different reasons. Dairy refers to milk from a cow or other domestic animals. We offer chocolates that have no milk and no part of milk. The milk is replaced by vegetable based solutions for “milk-like” chocolates.

2. Gluten-free

A gluten-free diet is a diet that strictly excludes gluten. Gluten is a mixture of proteins found in wheat and related grains. At Barry Callebaut, all our production sites are gluten free and most of our products are too.

 

 

 


3. Vegetarian/Vegan/flexitarians

Consumers following these diets find great importance in claims and labels. They want products that are good for them, the environment and the animal. Vegetarians avoid all foods or ingredients that contain meat, poultry or seafood ingredients. Vegans go one step further.

Special dietary solutions vegan

On top of the vegetarian diet, vegans also avoid all foods and ingredients that originate from animals, so milk chocolate as such is not an option for them. Flexitarians, a relatively new notion, refer to those who are flexible in their diet and can switch from vegan to vegetarian to gluten-free and back.

Get in Touch

Your Nearest Sales Representatives

Victoria Pitters
  • Food & Beverage manufacturers
1-312-496-7444

Your Nearest Office

Barry Callebaut USA LLC
903 Industrial Highway
Eddystone, 19022
United States

+1 610 872 4528